My Learning in 2012 – A Post for @iTDipro #iTDi

The great educators at iTDi, The International Teachers’ Development Institute, have been writing post on the website about what they have learnt in 2012.

This year has been a great year in learning for me, not only for my profession but for myself in general.

  • Once again, I have attended amazing conferences and workshops, where I have learnt a great deal and networked with amazing educators.
  • A very important thing I learned – pretty late, but better late than never! Facebook rocks for teachers! I absolutely love it. I had only been on Twitter for three years and my great friend James Taylor and Ania Musielak managed to get me to take the plunge – I really wonder why I hadn’t done it earlier. It is much more visual for me and I can learn a lot from various groups I have joined. It is truly a buzzing community of educators. Plus when I joined, I really felt like I opened a door to a house full of friends!
  • I am really trying to improve my German – both for myself and out of respect to this wonderful country. I am trying to learn it the way I can best, the way I learn other things as well  – by looking and listening. Not through traditional methods and I completely refuse to follow them. For me they just don’t work, as I feel I am running into a wall. For that reason, I observe and try to speak with people and friends around me as much as possible. I also listen to lots of podcasts and that has improved it quite a lot.
  • I have started learning Turkish for the past three weeks, ever since I returned from lovely Istanbul. I have been learning on an online programme and will start lessons very soon! I love how it sounds. I would love to be able to communicate next time I go there again!Quote-287
  • I have learned to make time for myself, for things I like – be it a simple thing that makes me feel good. It can be reading a book, having a nice cup of coffee or eating cake. If I feel okay, I am healthy and then I am feeling fine for my students as well!
  • Most importantly, after fifteen years of teaching, I have learned (and I am actually applying it much better than I thought) not to self-flagellate when something goes wrong, either in my teaching or in life in general. I see every mistake, every mishap as just one more thing ahead and that I will try no matter what to correct it or not repeat it.

I hope 2013 is full of health, happiness and even more learning for all of us! I wish everybody a Happy New Year!

15 thoughts on “My Learning in 2012 – A Post for @iTDipro #iTDi

  1. Great year Vicky and it is very important that your PLN. has been expanded with facebook. Social networking is amazing and it can be very useful as you already know. It is great that you have started learning Turkish. You can understand better the philosophy and the culture of our neighbours. But the best thing you have achieved is to make time for yourself!!!
    Merry Christmas and Happy new year. Many wishes for a healthy and inspiring new year with lot of creativity and personal growth.

    • Dear George,

      I am so happy to have you here on the blog! Many thanks for the comment and good wishes. I wish you all the best for 2013 and I hope we meet up in March, when I come to Athens! It will be great! All the best to you and your wonderful family!

    • Dear Ratna,

      Many thanks for your very kind words! I started out very young and scared, I had to start to get extra income for my studies…there are others teaching many more years than me and I learn a great deal from them : ) We are all in this together and it is great! I have learned so much from you as well during the past few months we have been connected – and I am so happy about that!

      Wishing you the very best,
      Vicky

  2. Pingback: My Learning in 2012 – A Post for @iTDipro #iTDi | Leadership Think Tank | Scoop.it

  3. Pingback: OTR Links 12/23/2012 « doug – off the record

  4. Wow Vicky! It’s clear that you have learned a lot this year, and that you still have a lot that you want to learn in 2013. I’m most intrigued by your Facebook comment. I’m not on Facebook, as I’ve always seen this as more personal social media versus professional social media (how I use Twitter). You’re making me think about this though. Do you use Facebook for personal and professional connections with others? How do you view your connections on Facebook as compared to Twitter? I’m curious if you’re interacting with many of the same people, or if you’ve made new connections instead.

    Thanks for helping me understand more about Facebook!
    Aviva
    http://www.weinspirefutures.com

    • Aviva!

      I am so happy to have you here – thanks so much for reading and commenting : )

      I was really really wary of Facebook. In September, my good friend James Taylor, also a teacher, sat down and explained everything to me. I saw only benefits, if used appropriately. I have made many many new connections there, plus the people I already follow on Twitter – but it is a completely different experience. Everything is much more visual, much livelier – you can even join special groups (for instance, I have joined lots, among them English for Business Teachers, English in Kindergarten, things like that) and you can have tons of discussions.

      A huge plus on FB: no character limit! Whoop whoop!!!!

      When James asked me how I felt when I joined Facebook, I said it was like I entered a house full of teacher friends, some I knew, some new I met!!!

      I hope this helps. I will be happy to help, if you decide to join. I have not looked back. I love it!

      Best wishes,
      Vicky

      • Thanks for clarifying how you’ve used Facebook, Vicky! I’m still somewhat wary of it, but I like how you’re still using it for professional connections. Making the distinction between it and Twitter helps too. I know many people that use it and love it, and reading your reply definitely has me thinking more about this. If I make the leap, I will be asking for your help for sure. :)

        Thanks again!
        Aviva
        http://www.weinspirefutures.com

  5. Pingback: Professional Development for Now and the Future (Inspired by @michaelegriffin) | Vicky Loras's Blog

  6. Pingback: How has your teaching developed this year? | efl-resource.com

Leave a Reply

