blogging, writing

My First Post

etp_article   This link will lead you to my first publication, which was in the magazine English Teaching Professional, Issue 50, in 2007 . In this article you can read about what I think is a very important issue in the classroom, that of multiculturalism and diversity. Since this is my first posting, I must refer to the person who helped me get the idea for this first one: Ken Wilson (teacher trainer, ELT author, sketch- and songwriter and many many more), who has talked about the issue of culture and teaching in general, as well as travelling on his own fantastic blog (http://kenwilsonelt.wordpress.com). Thank you Ken!

11 thoughts on “My First Post”

  1. Hi Vicky. As for getting to know each other, maybe we should show the work we have done the past years through pictures and written facts relevant to The Loras English Academy. Our school alone will show our love for children, teaching, the English language and we will feel proud. Thanks. It IS the place where we did wonders and learned so many things. Theoretically and practically.

    1. You are absolutely right. Maybe I can dedicate a blogpost (or even more!) to our school and what the students and we have achieved all these years. Great idea and I will look into it in the very near future.

  2. Hi Vicky,

    congratulations on setting up your website. I wish you the best of luck. My advice would be to get lots of content up as soon as you can, and make sure people understand what your views are. I know you have strong and interesting views on multi-culturalism, so I suggest you expand on them here.

    Vicky, I don’t know if it’s just my compuyter, but the colours on this blog are very muted and I find it hard to read the text. I suggest you try one of the alternative wordpress styles to make it sharper.

    I’ve listed your blog on my blogroll – so get writing! 🙂

    Ken

    1. Hi Ken!
      Thank you for all your tips – and for adding me to your blogroll! I promise I will work very hard! Multiculturalism will be one of the primary issues of this blog. Thank you very much again! I can’t wait to read your new blogpost!
      Vicky

  3. Dear Vicky,

    congratulations on setting up your website! I have just read your article on multiculturalism and diversity and I fully agree to what you are saying, as it is also an issue here in Switzerland. Thank you again for our chat on Saturday and I look forward to seeing you soon and have more conversations, not only on English teaching!
    Cheers, Caroline

    1. Hi Caroline!
      Thank you very much for your very kind words! I look forward to seeing you again, both in person and through this blog! I had so much fun on Saturday too. See you soon!
      All the best,
      Vicky

  4. Βίκυ γεια σου! Τι χαρά να σε βρίσκω εδώ! Συγχαρητήρια για το blog και ελπίζω να βρισκόμαστε …στην ελληνική γλώσσα βέβαια. Θα σε βάλω κι εγώ στα αγαπημένα μου ιστολόγια για να σε παρακολουθώ. Εμένα με βρίσκεις στα:
    estamou.blogspot.com (ως αρισμαρί)
    xrysomyga.blogspot.com (ως χρυσόμυγα, είναι για τα σχολεία που δουλεύω)

    Πολύ χάρηκα για το μέιλ, θα σου στείλω κι εγώ.
    Φιλιά πολλά

    1. Κυρία Λίτσα σας ευχαριστώ πάρα πολύ! Θα σας προσθέσω στα ιστολόγιά μου! Θα τα πούμε πολύ σύντομα!
      Φιλάκια σε όλους,
      Βίκυ

  5. Hello Vicky
    Nice to see you in the blogosphere!
    Ken is right – content is the key. It is really important to decide how often you are going to post and stay with that. For example, with my blog, I always try for once a week. Some people do more and others do less but consistency is the key (so I am told!)
    Enjoyed your ETP article and look forward to reading more.
    Jamie 🙂

    1. Hi Jamie and thank you very much for your kind words. Thank you for the advice as well, I will definitely follow it! Actually, I am working on the next entry! I am glad you liked my article, you are somewhere in that magazine too with a great article on … Images! You are doing a fantastic job on both of your blogs. I wish you all the best!
      Vicky

Leave a Reply

