Number Four – Leave It Behind – The 30 Goals Challenge

Many thanks to Shelly Terrell, who continues to inspire us and to Russell Stannard, who introduced Vocaroo as a recording tool at TESOL France. If you haven’t, you should also visit Russell’s amazing and award-winning website www.teachertrainingvideos.com !

Everyone can have problems. Try to leave them behind when you step into class. (thehealthyskeptic.com)

Educators are humans too and our profession has a lot of happy moments, but can be stressful at times as well, be it because we have to grade, mark, prepare, or we are not feeling physically well, or have some kind of personal problem.

Leave it behind – it is not good to carry it into the classroom. It is not good for the students first of all, for you, the educator, or for the lesson.

Whenever I have a problem, I feel much better once I step into the classroom and see my students – when I come out again, the problem might still be there, but then I can see it with different eyes…or even find the solution more easily! And the important thing is to stop doing what stresses you at the time you feel it is pressuring. Talk to someone on Skype, chat on Twitter and Facebook with a person you love or appreciate or listen to some music. Then you can get back to what you were doing in a different mood.

I tried to do my post as an audio recording this time. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave It Behind – by Vicky Loras

I feel better when I see my students (my kiddos make me smile - and so do my adults!) http://www.thelearningworkshop.com
8 thoughts on “Number Four – Leave It Behind – The 30 Goals Challenge

  1. I certainly agree.
    I think leaving your personal life outside the classroom becomes easier when you see things from the students’ perspective. When you come to class you expect your teacher to be “all there” for you and rightly so!

    1. Hi Naomi!

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I like how you say that everything becomes eaiser when you see it through the eyes of the students! Great comment.

      Kindest regards, Vicky

  2. Hi Vicky!

    How great to hear your voice! You’ve used a helpful tool and the message expresses what I think about teaching. For me, teaching has had a healing effect because the moment I enter a classroom, all my problems fade away and so the mind gets rid of what is affecting me in that moment. My motto has always been show must go on.
    Hugs,
    Marisa

    1. Hi Marisa!

      Thank you so much for your wonderful comment (and also for the audio!).

      Your motto is the greatest: yes I agree, the show must go on! Teachers should not let anything external affect their classes.

      Thank you so much, sis!

      Have a great day, Vicky

  3. A very true sentiment, it is important not to let our circumstances contribute to our students’ affective filters. Like you, my problems tend to melt away when I’m in the classroom. It’s like an endorphin factory.

    By the way, I enjoyed hearing you, Vicky. =)

    1. Hi Tyson!

      I loved your comment – the classroom as an “endorphin factory”!

      Nice to see a lot of teachers who leave everything behind when going into class and even feeling better when doing so. It creates a great atmosphere.

      Glad you liked the audio!

      Talk soon, Vicky

      1. Haha, yes, I liked it enough too to quote it in my RT! It’s just the unique wording I try to demonstrate to my students when choosing when to quote directly over paraphrasing–another issue for another post.

        Back to the topic at hand, I almost always feel better in the classroom. I even forget that I have a terrible cold (unless hacking begins) too.

      2. Hi Tyson,

        Great idea for a post – paraphrasing (looking forward to it, as I have been doing a lot of this with my adult students).

        Oh no, you have a cold? Hope you feel better soon!

        Talk soon, Vicky

Leave a Reply

