Number Six – Invite Them In – The 30 Goals Challenge

Open up your classroom door - invite them in! (Image from http://www.viewpictures.co.uk)

You are teaching children and the parents frequently ask you what you are doing in class this period and how their kids are doing.

You are teaching adults and your school administrator or other teachers are asking you how you are doing and what is happening in your class.

You can always tell them, or they can ask for feedback from the students themselves, but there are some other ways to let them know and to invite them in personally! And you can do this often.

  • If you have a blog or wiki, try to post your students’ work as often as you can. Post pictures of their learning, either the students in action or their projects. I try to publish ideas I have used in class and which I think work. Soon it will be a good idea for me to use their real work (after checking with them first!).
  • Invite your school administrator, or mentor, or other teachers, to sit in on one of your classes. It will be helpful for them to see what is going on, your teaching methods, how the students respond and the general learning atmosphere. Their feedback can be invaluable. They might notice positive or negative things about your teaching that you may never have even thought about.
  • Invite the parents and caregivers. If you have little ones, it is always nice to organise open days at school, where the parents or caregivers can come and see the children in action! I went to  my niece’s open day at kindergarten once and I saw the great atmosphere they have in class and I also got to see her wonderful teacher using great ideas with the kids.

So go ahead and open your classroom door, either literally or through technology! Share your learning with the people in your school or in your students’ family environment. They will appreciate it a great deal and you can use the feedback to see your teaching from a new perspective.

8 thoughts on “Number Six – Invite Them In – The 30 Goals Challenge

    1. Hi David!

      Thank you so much for your comment.

      I also remember the first few times I was observed (especially the first one I was petrified!). I am okay with it now and when I observe other teachers I completely understand how they feel!

      Thank you so much for the super activity you shared with us! I really appreciate it.

      Kindest regards,
      Vicky

  1. Hi Vicky,
    I have just read your blog and it contained very nice ideas. I am working on İstek blog for the 5th graders and we decided to put a kids corner in our blog where we can publish student’s activities. I tried to make the parents familiar with their kids’ blog and although they seemed very interested, most of them had little or even no knowledge of using the internet. I have my own reservations regarding your idea of having sometimes an open classrooms. There are different people from different socio-economical background, and intellectual level, and with different attitude towards different approaches. I think we need to have a group of very open-minded parents in order to proceed with an open classroom hours, otherwise this can end up in disappointing results. Thanks again for this great post-:))

    1. Hi Gita!

      Many many thanks for your comment. You have pointed out some very important issues and I really appreciate your doing that, you have made me think.

      You are absolutely right, parents and caregivers can be of different backgrounds and it can be daunting for them, if they cannot have the attitude needed to comprehend classroom work. I believe it is up to us to slowly introduce them to the culture of our classroom, step by step. I agree that it can be a difficult thing to do, and can be discouraging if they do not respond, but we can try and be as patient as possible and available for them to ask any questions they may have.

      Thank you very much for showing that there is another side to the coin and it is not so easy sometimes to have parents respond positively. And thank you very much for reading!

      Kindest regards,
      Vicky

  2. Hi Vicky,
    Great points – I so agree with having an open door policy if you can – it can be so motivating to share – our classrooms, other people’s points of view, the great stuff our students are doing – and I love sharing my students’ work when I can – and when I ask them if I can use their work, with other students, with other classes, in PD sessions or on my blog, they literally puff up with pride 🙂
    Ceri

    1. Hi Ceri!

      You used one of my favourite words – motivating! I totally agree, it can be motivating for the students and the teachers.

      Thank you so much! Vicky

    1. Hi Tyson!

      Yeah, it can be a great thing – food for thought, for the teacher, the students and the people visiting.

      Not always a pleasant experience, as Gita mentioned in her comment, but worth trying!

      Talk soon, Vicky

Leave a Reply

