life, poetry

Hair – A Poem Read by Mieke Kenis (@mkofab)

Mieke Kenis

It all started last night when Mieke Kenis, a super person and educator from Belgium, and I were chatting about how we both love poetry – Mieke told me she reads poems sometimes and records them on Audioboo. I love her voice and the way she reads. So then I told her that I (think I) write poems, so I recorded my poem Hair on Audioboo. Mieke listened to it and returned me the nicest present ever – herself reading Hair, in the absolutely most beautiful way. She gave such life to my poem, it really moved me and I thank her so very much for that. Here is the recording of Mieke reading it so beautifully:

Hair – Read by Mieke Kenis, Written by Vicky Loras

Thank you so much, Mieke!

* Mieke has started a blog.

13 thoughts on “Hair – A Poem Read by Mieke Kenis (@mkofab)”

  1. Vicky, I knew that you love poetry but had no idea that you write poems! Great idea for a post – and you’re right – Mieke is reading the poem beautifully. 🙂

    1. Hi Naomi!

      Thank you so much, I am happy you like it! When Mieke sent me the recording, it really moved me – she gave life to the poem and read every part with its own feeling, I love it!

      Thank you for reading and your wonderful comment : )

      Have a great day,
      Vicky

  2. Hi Vicky,

    I was so honoured that you shared this poem with me that evening.
    Blogposts are one thing but creative writing (and poetry in particular) is so very personal.
    I felt I had to do something in return and just read that aloud on the spur of the moment.
    If I had known you would post it to the world, I would have practised:-).
    For one, I think the technical quality could have been better and I hope you don’t hear the dishwasher in the background 🙂

    Anna, Naomi and Brad, thank you for comments. Too kind.

    Mieke

    1. Dear Mieke,

      Thank y o u for reading it so wonderfully – I heard what the rest heard, no dishwashers, no bad quality – just your fantastic voice and tones reading the poem, giving it life wherever it needed to be given, emotion where it needed it – an absolutely perfect reading : )))

      Thank you so much!

      Warmest regards,
      Vicky

  3. Vicky, wow! These three letters are my initial sincere reaction. Mieke reads so wonderfully and the poem … Well, it was beautifully sad and touching. Okay, I have to listen again!

Leave a Reply

