life, literature, poetry

Ithaca – A Poem Read by Mieke Kenis (@mkofab)

Pebbles on the beach, photo taken by @sandymillin (eltpics)

It has been about two months since I last posted and I return with another poetry reading by the amazing Mieke Kenis, based in Belgium – listen to her reading it, she is fantastic! Some of you remember her reading Hair and Ascending.

One of the greatest Greek poets, Constantine Cavafy, wrote one of his most well-known poems under the same title: Ithaca by Constantine Cavafy

I have borrowed the title, as all of us, at some point of our lives, are looking for our own Ithaca like Ulysses (Odysseus) was in Greek mythology.

Many many thanks to Mieke, who has given the poem a new life, a lot of feelings and her own wonderful way of reading it.

Ithaca – A poem by Vicky Loras, read by Mieke Kenis

16 thoughts on “Ithaca – A Poem Read by Mieke Kenis (@mkofab)”

  1. This past month, we had a poetry cafe. Unlike years past, we added a poetry recitation.

    I was skeptical about the recitation – but did it because my colleagues were doing it (the ultimate form of teacher peer pressure).

    I’m so glad I did it. Students took ideas from poetryoutloud.org – what a great way to practice fluency and expression!

    Big fan of reading poetry now.

    1. Hi Janet!

      Thank you so much for leaving your comment.

      I am happy you took on the poetry reading at school – and liked it so much! I love poetry and use it in my classes as often as I can. The students love it!

      Have a great week,
      Vicky

Leave a Reply

