(image taken from http://www.mashable.com)
(Image taken from http://www.mashable.com)

These days that we have been on holidays for Christmas and the New Year, I have had more time to read blogs (apart from teach a bit, study a lot for my Masters program and spend time with my family!). I have seen a lot of teachers around the world take up the One Word challenge – a word that will represent them for 2015. I first saw Tia Henriksens blog post and I loved what she had written – then I saw Aviva Dunsiger‘s which I also loved and thought – I would love to write on this too!

My word for 2015 is not an original one, and it is one that has represented me ever since I was a little girl: LEARN. I want to continue to do that on a lot of other levels and topics.

Here they are:

– Even though I have an over full-time job and  business to run, I enjoy both tremendously and do not want to stop learning more about my work and I read various books, magazines and I come into contact with people who do the same and learn from and with them – either face-to-face or on social media. This will definitely continue this year!

– My Masters program is one of the best choices I have made the past few years. In September 2014, I started a MA in Applied Linguistics and TESOL at the University of Portsmouth, UK. It was something I have always wanted to do since I graduated from university with a BA in English Language and Literature. It is an amazing experience and I want to learn more on this fantastic journey! It has already taught me a lot, not only about languages, linguistics and TESOL, but also about time management and writing academically again after a very long time. Here is to another great year of learning!

Language learning! Two years ago, I started learning Turkish with my teacher Dinçer Demir and we have kept on all this time, both battling our busy schedules – so this year we will also continue. I will also keep on learning German, as I am very pleased with my progress so far and I want to learn how to speak and write really well.

– Last year, after summer, I realised I had had such a great holiday, but why wait for the summer to do things for myself? If we are not well physically

A close-up of the scarf I knit for Maggie
A close-up of the scarf I knit for Maggie

and mentally, we do not do good not only to ourselves but also to our families, students and colleagues. So I wanted to start yoga classes, but who would teach me either very early in the morning or very late at night, as those are the only times I am free (preparing for work, or studying, but I have to squeeze in my well-being in there too : )? So I found a brilliant YouTube Channel called Yoga with Adriene. Now, I do not know a single thing about yoga, but I love Adriene because she helps us out a lot, even beginners or inflexible people like myself and I feel really good after each session – I want to keep learning from her this year as well!

– You might laugh, but I have always loved knitting, so I started again last year – I have already knit a scarf for Maggie, my niece and am now knitting one for Nicholas, my nephew – I want to learn more patterns and techniques this year. Thank heavens for YouTube, Pinterest and blogs : )

In general, I want to continue learning and learn new things as well!

Wishing you all a great New Year and may 2015 bring you everything you wish for!