Seven – Επτά – Sieben

7-years-of-blogging

Seven.

Επτά.

Sieben.

It is that time of the year again!

Seven years of blogging – sometimes often, sometimes not so often…

A few weeks ago, Doug Peterson wrote a post about Starting or Reflecting on a Blog – and I thought it was great to write on at least some of the points he mentions, and what I have learned in the process of these seven years. There is so uch more to learn – and share!

I will make that seven points – to keep to the theme of seven : )

  1. Have a plan when to write and what: I honestly admire bloggers like Doug and Aviva Dunsiger who write very often and on so many different topics. I still do not have a plan and just post when I think I have something to write about. Let’s see if that changes : )
  2. Make it social: I try to share my posts and other posts everywhere. Now that I am not on Facebook anymore, I use Twitter and LinkedIn.
  3. Content is king! I think so too. In the beginning, I would only share what I did in my classes. Then I started sharing more general or more specific topics. This year, I also tried something different, which I was a bit doubtful of at first – my blog became a bit political, as last month we had a referendum here in Zug on pay cuts for teachers, people with disabilities, people in the medical profession, the elderly and lots more. I thought it was very important to make my little mark as well – we won!
  4. Blogging is a huge learning platform. I cannot even begin to mention how many things I have learned from other people’s blogs, as well as from their comments on mine or other blogs. They have made me think, taught me things, they have inspired me!
  5. Disagreeing is not a bad thing. I remember the first time someone disagreed with what I had written. I was crestfallen. However, after some time I thought that I am not always right of course and the person was very polite in doing so, and above all…made me think! It all depends on how the person disagrees with an opinion. As long as it is civilised, it is a great exchange of opinions and learning opportunity.
  6. Sharing is super! I love sharing blog posts I have read or have taught me something. Think of how many people we can reach just by sharing! The community of learning keeps growing. Here I would like to share another great post on blogging, by Jennifer Aston, an educator in London, Ontario!
  7. Writing improves! I sometimes cringe when I read some of my first blog posts and have been tempted to correct / delete them, but I have decided to leave them there. We can only improve and learn, right?

Thank you all so much for being with me on this amazing journey, for sharing, for teaching me and helping me become a better educator!

blogging
(Image taken from askablogger.com)

 

 

12 thoughts on “Seven – Επτά – Sieben

  1. Thank you for following up and sharing your thoughts, Vicky. I think your point about blogging being a huge learning platform is so appropriate. There are so many smart people who share their thoughts and we are all beneficiaries from their efforts. I also liked to focus in on the concept of blogging improving writing. It’s the one area where we all go back to Grade 5 knowing that someone will be reading our work and so we want it to be the best that it can be.

    I consider you one of the most valuable people that I’ve connected with as a result of this platform and I wish you all the best for the next seven years.

    1. Thank you ever so much for your comment and your wonderful words, Doug! I feel exactly the same about connecting with you and I really mean it. Thank you so much for everything I learn from you on a literally daily basis! You are SUPER!

  2. Loved reading this post, Vicky! I’m so glad that you shared your voice here. I agree with Doug’s point as well. I learn so much from blogging and the multiple voices that I “hear” thanks to blogs. I’m glad that your voice is one of them.

    Aviva

  3. I really enjoyed this post, Vicky mou! Blogging is something I have come to love so much, and I owe it all to you! I didn’t dare to start before this challenge on your blog! I may not write so often but every time I do it’s a whole new journey! And yes, I agree with you that sharing thoughts and reading other people’s blogs is part of this journey! Keep blogging, keep inspiring us, educators like you are a shining light to all of us!

  4. HappyBlog- Birthday! Here’s to many more years of blogging! You are so inspiring – I’ve been ignoring my blog’s birthday…
    Keep up the great work!
    Naomi

    1. APHRO MOU!!!! I miss you too! Thank you so so much and what an amazing blogger you are! I will also never forget my visit to your lovely classes and all your children! My love to you and the kids!

Leave a comment