From Zug to Belgium – A BELTA Webinar

BELTA Belgium
BELTA Belgium

Today was the day of the first webinar for BELTA Belgium, a great new association for English teachers in Belgium and everywhere, in fact! BELTA was founded by James Taylor, Mieke Kenis, Ellen de Preter, Guido van Landeghem and Jurgen Basstanie. You can read more about the foundation of BELTA and also watch the launch event here.

I was asked to do the first webinar for BELTA, which I accepted with great joy and honour. The topic was Professional Development for Now and the Future: A Guide to 2013 and you can watch the slideshow below:

I have also created a PDF file with the most useful links.

BELTA Presentation – Useful Notes

Here is the link with the recording of the webinar, which will also be published on the BELTA blog, Facebook and Twitter.

A huge thank you to BELTA and everyone who was there (including my parents!), in the Adobe Connect room and to my sister, Eugenia, who was there in the same room as I was, cheering us all on (and also helped me find a title to this blog post)!

A screen capture of the webinar (Photo by Roseli Serra)
A screen capture of the webinar (Photo by Roseli Serra)

10 thoughts on “From Zug to Belgium – A BELTA Webinar

  1. Dear Vicky

    It was an honour for BELTA to have you as our first presenter of the webinars!
    You did a great job! You shared your views in such an enthusiastic and relaxed way. Your own stories added a personal touch to the professional advice you had for all of us.
    On behalf of BELTA I would like to thank you for all your support, right from the start, and especially for what you did for us today!
    We could not have wished for a better start of the BELTA webinars!
    So thanks again and a big hug from Belgium to Zug!
    Mieke

    1. Dear Mieke,

      I think “thank you” does not cover me for all your good words and support! I am very happy you liked it – I enjoyed it so much! I am so happy for you and all the BELTA members, you have done and keep doing a great job! I am sure it will grow to be a big, warm, collaborative association : )

      Big hugs!
      Vicky

  2. Congratulations to the BELTA Team and to Vicky Loras on today’s great webinar! We are very happy to be the first institutional members of BELTA. It is truly worth it and wish all the best!
    Thank you,
    Eugenia

  3. It was my first webinar attendance ever and I was absolutely delighted! The moment the webinar was announced I wrote it down in my diary and was basically counting the hours on Sunday. Then my big worry was that no one comes to ring the doorbell between 4 and 5 šŸ˜‰
    It was an honour to be in the same virtual room with Vicky and James and Mieke and all the other wonderful people! To see them typing away and giving comments in real time, that was quite an experience.
    And then Vicky! What can I add that hasn’t already been said. You are an incredible inspiration to so many people, you’re gift to motivate and “whoop” people along is amazing. You make people feel special and worthy and you never run out of good words for everyone.
    Best of everything to you, dear Vicky!
    Best to BELTA and I hope to be able to attend one of their seminars or conferences (was it this summer?!) soon!

    1. Dearest Sirja,

      What can I say apart from a huge thank you for all your support, your kind words about all of us and for being such an amazing person and educator! A million thanks!!! So happy you were there and you liked it!

      Big hugs,
      Vicky

  4. Very inspiring, Vicky! I hope you can do one webinar, at least, with our teachers here in Indonesia. I will talk to Yitzha, your friend and mine too :-), on how we can have you share your inspirational stories on our online events in the near future. šŸ™‚

    1. Thank you so much Adi, for watching and writing such kind words! It would be a pleasure to do a webinar for the teachers in Indonesia : ))) I would really love to!

      Have a lovely week,
      Vicky

Leave a comment