The day k d lang came to our class…with Godot (Pt 1)

This is a long story…that can be explained in this post only a little. Along with our students, it can lead us to many places!

Let’s start from the very beginning. k d lang (she writes her name in lower case, just like  e e cummings : ) is a Canadian singer, with a golden voice, and my absolute favourite female performer. Her song Constant Craving is one of my all-time favourites. I just love the instruments used (especially the accordion is haunting and beautiful), the lyrics are amazing and k d’s voice spectacular.

The other day, I was listening to the song (again) and paying much closer attention to the video, which I have seen more times than I remember…and it hit me. I looked at the characters…they reminded me of something. Are the men in the theater where k d is, playing in Waiting for Godot? I did that play in university, in my very first year in a class called Introduction to Drama. I loved that play so much, that it became the main topic of a paper I wrote then. I checked the story behind the video, and it really is k d in a theater, where this play is being performed!

Can I use her song AND the play in class? Sure – I can try!

Here is how I am thinking of using it – let me know if you have any different ideas! I am positive that my students will take me to other places that I had never imagined before, so this is just a rough idea.

I am thinking of using it with B2 / C1 / C2 level students, because some of the vocabulary and themes can be a bit challenging for lower levels. So then for my classes, it will be mainly teens and adult students.

I will show them the title first. Some initial rough questions:

  • What do you think it means?
  • What does to crave mean?
  • Why does she call it a constant kind of craving? Guess what the song is about! (The artist herself has never clearly, in as many interviews as I have seen, mentioned who or what the source of inspiration for this song is. There is no correct or wrong answer in songs, poetry or literature anyway, I believe. They can all be left open to interpretation. We want our students to produce written or spoken language in English.)

I will let them listen to the song and watch the video then. 

  • What is the singer doing? What do you think her feelings are and why?
  • Where is she? Why do you think so?
  • What are the people in the theater doing: The audience? The people on stage?

Then I will give them the lyrics. You can see them and the activities in a document called ConstantCraving_LessonPlan and feel free to do anything you like with it, change it, create it from the beginning, anything!

  • We can go through the lyrics one by one and discuss, thoughts that come to our minds, feelings, anything.
  • They can choose a word or phrase that strikes them and write a small poem or short story.
  • They can perform / present their poems or stories in front of the class (if they feel comfortable, or we can do it with them / for them) – perhaps even with the song playing softly in the background, to give a more dramatic tone : )

Here is my favourite live performance of the song, for your pleasure – happy listening!

Waiting for Godot will be the next post – Part 2! Stay tuned. 

10 thoughts on “The day k d lang came to our class…with Godot (Pt 1)

  1. Your lesson plan and structure look like a fabulous way to include all learning styles as well as developing a style of writing and understanding the students may not have explored before. It looks like a fabulous idea. Let us know how your students reacted and how it turned out. D.H.

    1. Hi Diane!

      Thank you so so much for the feedback! I really appreciate that and it’s always so necessary, especially before / when trying out new ideas!

      Have a great day,
      Vicky

  2. Hi Vicky,

    Thank you for your advice. Sometimes we listen to the songs and learn more new words and make the students complete the lyrics.The problem is that the young generation prefer rap or pop music of this age, not classical ones. Have a good new year. Greetings from İzmir,Turkey.You haven’t been on Facebook recently. Bye bye.

    1. Dear İnci,

      Thank you so much for your wondefrful comment! You are right, they do prefer the music of their own generation, however I have seen that often they are open to other kinds of music as well – not always, but very often they give it a chance : )

      I do not have a Facebook account anymore, but I am still on other social media, canim : )

      Best wishes,
      Vicky

Leave a comment